“Power Beyond Measure” was the theme this year at the Chicago Westside Branch NAACP’s annual Freedom Fund banquet last Saturday.

The May 10, dinner, reception and awards gala took place at the Best Western Hotel in Hillside. The annual banquet honors community members and civil leaders.

The master of ceremonies for the evening was Art Porter, executive producer of V103 Radio. Awards were presented by Westside Branch President Karl Brinson and Vera Davis, board member and Emeritus President of the Westside NAACP.

This year honorees are Dorothy Gaters, athletic director and head coach at Marshall High School; Anthony Taylor, area community relations manger for Coca Cola Bottling Co.; and Chicago Police Deputy Chief Al Wysinger of the Organized Crime Division. Wysinger’s a former commander of the 15th District Police.

The other honorees are Darren Tillis, an agent at State Farm Insurance Company; Gail Lindo, president of Westside Holistic Services; and George and Regina Daniels, owners of George’s Music Room on the West Side.

Fashion entrepreneur Barbara Bates hosted a fashion show. Her models included two well-known Chicagoans: former Cook County Board President Bobbie Steele and Henrietta Leak, co-owner, along with her husband, of A.R. Leak Funeral Homes.

In his remarks, Brinson said, “The NAACP continues to encourage our community to stand up and fight against social injustice. We congratulate our honorees who have made outstanding contributions to our community. It is with great honor and pride that we recognize this wonderful group of individuals.

“Equally, we thank our Freedom Fund Committee chairperson, Ms. Renell Perry, and her committee for making this event a success,” he added. “A special thanks to Mrs. Vera Davis for her tireless work and guidance. We will know when the original objectives of our founders have been achieved-when justice is truly for all people. Until we meet again remember these words: Standing together and fighting together will give us Power beyond measure.”

2008 Freedom Fund Awards

n Dorothy Gaters – Educator of the Year
n Anthony Taylor – Corporate Champion Award
n Al Wysinger – Outstanding Public Servant of the Year
n Darren Tillis – Nola Bright Community Service Award
n Gail Lindo – Humanitarian of the Year
n George and Regina Daniels – Entrepreneurs of the Year