Pastor Steve Spiller and Mother Geraldine Bryant.

A gathering of Austin clergymen, community leaders, activists and elected officials was on hand Tuesday, Jan. 13, to acknowledge individuals who have exhibited the value Martin Luther King, Jr., may have exhibited the most: service. The award ceremony was held at the Columbus Park Refectory, 5701 W. Jackson Blvd., during a monthly meeting of the LEADERS Network, an organization of West Side clergy and other community leaders.

“The Martin Luther King, Jr. Faithful Service Awards” were also handed out to pastors who were instrumental in the construction of the Martin Luther King Legacy Apartments, an environmentally friendly property located at 1550 S. Hamlin.

The structure was completed in 2011 and houses 45 affordable rental units, in addition to commercial space. It sits in the exact location where Dr. King resided in 1966, after moving to Chicago to advocate for fair housing.

“These individuals go beyond and above their call to service in ministry and in their sacrifice of time and energy to help those in need,” said Deborah Williams, a member of the Network who helped plan and administer the awards.

“Each Awardee received an MLK Faithful Service Certificate of Appreciation in the spirit of Martin Luther King Jr., who said, ‘Everyone can be great, because anybody can serve.'” 

The Awardees

The Leader’s Network 2015 Martin Luther King Jr. Faithful Service Legacy Awardees:

  • Pastor Wayne Gordon –Lawndale Community Church
  • Pastor George Daniels – First Baptist Congregational Church
  • Pastor Randall Harris –Faith Community Church

Martin Luther King Jr. Faithful Service Awardees:

  • Everlasting Love Outreach Ministries – Mother Carrie Tabron
  • First Baptist Congregational Church – Rev. Clifford Williams
  • First Bethel MB Church – Deac. Donald Woods
  • Greater Galilee Baptist Church – Mother Geraldine Bryant
  • Greater St John Bible Church – Deac. Adrew Betts (Adrew without the N )
  • Galewood Community Church – Doris Jones
  • Garfield Park Community Worship Ctr – Elder Bennie Jackson
  • New Landmark MBC – Mae Bell Spates
  • New Hope MB Church – Mother Grace Escro
  • New Kingdom Church – Rev. Deborah Commons
  • Peoples Church of the Harvest – Ephraim Eaddy
  • Praise Temple of Restoration – Larry Lawrence Jr

One reply on “Community members, pastors awarded for being like MLK”