Illinois Press Association Honors Top Newspapers

Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter

By Community Editor

Illinois' top newspapers were honored today at the Illinois Press Association's annual convention in Springfield. More than 100 daily and non-daily newspapers competed in 36 editorial categories.

The Colorado Press Association judged the more than 3,000 editorial entries.

The Chicago Tribune Media Group won the Stuart R. Paddock Memorial Sweepstakes Trophy for large dailies. First place awards for their coverage of the Chicago Cub's World Series win contributed to the newspaper's victory.

The Sweepstakes Trophies are awarded to newspapers earning the most points in six different circulation divisions. Points are awarded for first place through honorable mention in most contest categories including general excellence, photography, newswriting, opinion writing, design, community service and editorial page.

Runner-up for the Paddock Trophy was the Journal Star, Peoria. In third place was the Chicago Sun-Times.

In the medium-sized daily newspaper category, The News-Gazette in Champaign took top honors. They were awarded the Mabel S. Shaw Memorial Sweepstakes Trophy. The Quincy Herald-Whig claimed second place, and the Sauk Valley Media, Sterling won third.

In the small daily newspaper category, the Daily Chronicle in DeKalb claimed top honors. The newspaper was awarded the Patrick Coburn Award of Excellence. Coming in second for the Coburn Award was The Register-Mail, Galesburg, followed by the Journal Gazette & Times-Courier, Mattoon.

In the large, non-daily newspaper category, the Austin Weekly News, Chicago, claimed the Will Loomis Memorial Trophy. The Suburban Life Core Group, Downers Grove, received second place. The Kane County Chronicle in St. Charles received third place.

The Harold and Eva White Memorial Trophy is awarded to a medium-sized non-daily newspaper. Winner this year was the Bureau County Republican in Princeton. Second place went to The Galena Gazette. And in third place was the Wednesday Journal of Oak Park and River Forest.

The Woodstock Independent claimed ownership of the David B. Kramer Memorial Trophy, which is awarded to the best small, non-daily newspaper in Illinois. The Ford County Record in Paxton received second place. And the third place award was won by the LeRoy Farmer City Press.

The Illinois Press Association, located in Springfield, represents approximately 450 daily and weekly newspapers.

*Courtesy of the Illinois Press Association

Love the News?

Become our partner in independent community journalism

Thanks for turning to Austin Weekly News and We love our thousands of digital-only readers. Now though we're asking you to partner up in paying for our reporters and photographers who report this news. It had to happen, right?

On the plus side, we're giving you a simple way, and a better reason, to join in. We're now a non-profit -- Growing Community Media -- so your donation is tax deductible. And signing up for a monthly donation, or making a one-time donation, is fast and easy.

No threats from us. The news will be here. No paywalls or article countdowns. We're counting on an exquisite mix of civic enlightenment and mild shaming. Sort of like public radio.

Claim your bragging rights. Become a digital member.

Donate Now

Reader Comments

No Comments - Add Your Comment

Note: This page requires you to login with Facebook to comment.

Comment Policy

Facebook Connect

Answer Book 2019

To view the full print edition of the Austin Weekly News 2019 Answer Book, please click here.

Quick Links

Sign-up to get the latest news updates for Austin and Garfield Park.

MultimediaContact us
Submit Letter To The Editor
Place a Classified Ad

Classified Ad