Third Unitarian Church, 301 N. Mayfield, held its 36th annual scholarship awards last Sunday. Third Unitarian describes itself as “the urban face of liberal religion in Chicago.”

The church is under the leadership of Rev. Brian Covell, with a staff that includes Rev.Leslie M. Kee; Rev. Donald H. Wheat; Rev. Dr. Qiyamah Rahman; Scott Aaseng, director of music; Jamie Boyce, director of membership; Justine Urbikas, director of religious education; Jeff Hannan, religious education assistant; Connie Toebe, office administrator; Jan Labuz, custodial security services; and members Anne Koerber, Brenetta Howell Barrett, Barbara Minor, Lena Riddley, Louverta Hurt, Anita McChriston, Ron Chew, Eleanor Lukazewski, and trustees Mena Boulanger (chair), Robin Toewe (vice chair), Gary Zacny (recording secretary), Marie Mahoney, Walter Plummer, Karen Alanis and Ruth Tregay Seigel.

Fourteen young people from various area schools were awarded scholarships:

Alexis Bell, Steffen A. Canino, Shonte Clay, Samec Figueroa, Ruben Morales, Maria Maia, Ottinyse Miller, Thomas Morris, Torry Walker, Vincent Smith, Thaddeus Wright, Krystal K. Wilson, Lauren J. Wilson, and Daisy Salazar.

-Delores McCain